Q&A: Peter Wetzel

Leave a comment

January 30, 2013 by conteconfidential

Peter Wetzel, a member of the men’s fencing team, has a lot on his plate in his freshman year at Boston College. In addition to being a student-athlete, he is a member of the Army ROTC program and a philosophy major. Before coming to BC, the Memphis native was a four-time Tennessee High School State Champion in the epee discipline and finished in sixth place in the 2011 Summer Nationals Division II Men’s Epee. Wetzel shared with Conte Confidential his excitement about being an Eagle and discussed what it takes to juggle athletics, academics and a commitment to ROTC.

1) How long have you been fencing and what sparked your interest in the sport?

About eight years ago, I was flipping through an encyclopedia for some reason and came across a picture of two fencers engaged in what looked like a very intense match. It looked very interesting so I took a few starter lessons. Of course, I found it immensely fun, fighting an opponent in a battle of wits and skill using metal swords, what’s not to like? I loved it from the beginning and have never thought twice about the countless hours of training I have put into it.

2) As an athlete and a student, what attracted you to BC?

I visited Boston College and was thrilled with the campus and the students. Everyone I met was very helpful, fun and had a very positive attitude. I couldn’t have asked for a better place to learn about life.

3) What branch of the ROTC are you in and what inspired you to enlist?

It’s hard to answer this one without sounding like an Army promotional video. Well, enrolling in the Army ROTC program is quite a commitment involving four years of training during college and then eight years of service after college. It’s definitely not something you halfheartedly do. I decided I would do Army ROTC because it helps me accomplish many things that are important to me. It teaches me to be very responsible, organized and a good problem solver. I am doing something that really makes a difference in other people’s lives.

4) How do you balance sports, academics and ROTC? What does a typical day in your life entail?

Participating in both ROTC and the BC Fencing Team, while still keeping up with my studies, definitely doesn’t leave me much free time. A normal day for me includes waking up at 5 a.m. for Army PT (physical training), going to my classes, going to a fencing team workout, attending an Army class and then going to the actual fencing practice. Naps somewhere in the breaks are essential.

5) What do you consider your biggest accomplishment so far in your fencing career?

Beating a senior to win the High School State Championship as a freshman was certainly a highlight.

6) What has been the biggest key to your success as a fencer?

The very long, muscle-wrenching hours of training.

7) What are your goals for your team this season?

For the men’s foil team to beat Brown and Duke.

8) What are some things you wish to accomplish individually before you graduate from BC?

I would love to earn an “A” ranking in at least one of the fencing weapons. Visiting Germany and learning how to do the “Hardstyle Shuffle” would also be rather awesome.

9) You are obviously a busy person. What do you enjoy doing in your downtime?

Talking to friends, playing a few video games, watching Sherlock and sleeping!

10) Where is your favorite place on campus to hang out/study?

Chevy Lounge. It can get a little hard to study in there at times, but studying with friends is always worth it.

11) What is your major and why did you choose it?

I am a Philosophy major. I think it makes sense that if you want to live a good life, you should probably learn what a good life actually is. This is precisely what Philosophy is.

12) Favorite thing about your BC experience so far?

The friends I have met here and have grown to love.

13) Is there anything else you want to close with?

Although fencing is indeed incredibly fun for the sake of competition, one of my favorite things about it is the opportunities it gives you to meet so many great people.

Interview by Julia Burkett

Leave a comment