Worth the Wait, Evan Richardson Projects As Next Elite Dynamo

2

May 15, 2013 by conteconfidential

Boston College’s latest Canadian import has all the makings of the next elite undersized dynamo.

Evan Richardson has proven time and time again that he has the talent, speed and guts necessary to make it to the next level.

This year, Richardson had 49 points (17 goals, 31 assists) in 49 games with the Powell River Kings. In three seasons in the British Columbia Hockey League, two with the River Kings and one with the Victoria Grizzlies, he totaled 159 points (55 goals, 104 assists) in 182 games.

In 2009, the Nanaimo, B.C. native was drafted 15th overall by the Swift Current Broncos in the Western Hockey League Bantam Draft. His rights were traded to the Victoria Royals in 2012. But he didn’t think that the major junior route was right for him.

“College was always something I wanted to do ever since I was a little kid,” Richardson said. “I’m a smaller guy so I think the four years at college could really help me develop as a player and a person.”

And BC was the clear choice for the dynamic 5-foot-8 forward.

“Boston College has a pretty good track record of getting smaller guys to the NHL,” Richardson said. “That’s my end goal in life. That’s what I’m working for. One of the main things I want to do at the end of college is get a pro deal somewhere.”

richardson-victoria

Evan Richardson led the River Kings in scoring during the regular season with 47 points (16 goals, 31 assists) in 44 games (photo credit: Alicia Baas)

Richardson went undrafted last year and doesn’t expect to be drafted this year. He said that he wants to emulate former BC alternate captain Steven Whitney. An undrafted free agent, Whitney signed an entry-level deal with the Anaheim Ducks following his emergence as a high-scoring star his senior year.

“I like to say I’m like Whitney, but, I mean, he was pretty impressive so if I can try to be like him I’d be in a good position,” Richardson said.

Like Whitney, Richardson is a hockey-savvy speedster who can be counted on at both ends of the ice. Although he played center for most of his career, he’s comfortable on either wing and is willing to do whatever it takes to win.

“I like to say I’m an offensive guy and use my speed and my skill well, but if the coaches want me to do one thing then I’ll work at that,” Richardson said.

When he’s not at the rink honing his game, Richardson can often be found watching NHL games on TV. A Pittsburgh Penguins and Vancouver Canucks fan, he watches mainly to learn from the best.

“I try to take a lot of things from many different NHL guys like [Sidney] Crosby, [John] Tavares, [Matt] Duchene,” he said. “They’re all kind of similar young players, and I try to take a lot from them.”

Richardson already belongs to some elite company. During the 2009-2010 season with the North Island Silvertips, he led the British Columbia Major Midget League in scoring with 73 points (35 goals, 38 assists) in 37 games.

Ryan Nugent-Hopkins, the first overall pick of the 2011 NHL draft, led the BCMML in points the year before. Current NHL regulars Evander Kane and Brendan Gallagher also finished in the top five in scoring during their time in this league.

For two straight years, Richardson represented Canada on an international stage. Playing for Canada West at the World Jr. A Challenge, he won gold in 2011 and silver in 2012.

“Obviously any time you get to represent your country is pretty special,” Richardson said. “And winning a gold medal for your country is even better.”

richardson-capitals

With less than four minutes remaining in the game, Evan Richardson notched a power-play tally to lead the River Kings to a 3-2 win over the Cowichan Valley Capitals on February 10 (photo credit: Alicia Baas)

Richardson was supposed to arrive on the Heights last year, but he wanted an extra year to prepare for the college game. The BC coaching staff supported him in his decision to remain in the BCHL this year.

“I felt I could use another year to mature and help my game get better,” Richardson said. “I could work on strength, work on speed. We talked about it, and they said if that was something I thought could help my game, by all means, I should do it.”

With three years in the competitive BCHL and two stints with Team Canada to his credit, Richardson may be one of the most experienced incoming freshmen. But he knows that won’t necessarily translate into playing time right away.

“I know we have a lot of guys coming back, a lot of phenomenal seniors, and a lot of young guys coming in too,” he said. “Whatever the coaches decide for me, that’s their decision, and I’ll be happy with it.”

This summer, Richardson is working at the pro shop of a golf course. When he’s not there, he’s getting in workouts. He will also have much-needed hernia surgery in a few weeks.

 “I think it accumulated over time,” he said of his injury. “I think I’ve had it for a couple years so it’ll be good to finally get it out of the way.”

Since he waited an extra year, Richardson is especially excited to come to BC. But he isn’t sure what exactly he’s looking forward to the most.

“I don’t think I can put a finger on one thing,” he said. “I’m looking forward to the whole experience. I’ve heard unbelievable things about how fun the school is and how good the education is. There’s a lot of things I’m looking forward to, and obviously the hockey as well.”

By Jen Dobias

2 thoughts on “Worth the Wait, Evan Richardson Projects As Next Elite Dynamo

  1. The Grobowski's says:

    Boston College is getting a great kid, I’ve known him since he was 5 years old and is committed on and off the ice. Make Nanaimo proud Evan, go get him!!!

  2. Andi jones says:

    Hey Evan, I caught your article on the web. Congratulations! I have a son who is a 16 year old playing junior in Ontario and we’d love to pick your brains about the recruiting process to Boston College. If you get a moment, drop us an email to akjones@csolve.net. Thanks and have a great season,
    The scanlans

Leave a comment